Home » Recipe Books » Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe Reviews

Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe Reviews

Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe

Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe Featuring huge overhead beams, creamy stucco details, and a fireplace sporting oversized moose antlers, the 250-year-old hacienda that houses Geronimo restaurant is a welcome addition to Santa Fe’s trendy Canyon Road. Restaurant owners Cliff Skoglund and Chris Harvey along with chef Eric DiStefano have created a refined retreat in this once rough-and-tumble town, serving exquisite contemporary cuisine that rivals the best in the country. GERONIMO brings Chef DiStefano’s innate understanding of i

List Price: $ 50.00 Price: $ 41.95

Birnbaum’s Walt Disney World Dining Guide 2012

Birnbaum's Walt Disney World Dining Guide 2012 Birnbaum’s Walt Disney World Dining Guide is a complete diner’s guide to what’s where in the World. What do they serve? How good is it? How much will it cost? It’s all here. Our personally rated taste-tested temptations include: who serves the best PB&J, where to sup with Snow White, and why turkey legs are the most popular snack food in the World.

Our updated 2012 edition includes tips on how to stretch the tightest budget and get the most out of the Disney Dining Plan–and upd

List Price: $ 12.99 Price: $ 60.02

27pcs Patio Rattan Wicker Garden Dining Set Outdoor Chairs Table 3 Colors
$433.99
End Date: Sunday Jul-29-2018 22:44:02 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $433.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
Shayne Country Antique White Beige Dining Chairs (Set of 2) by iNSPIRE Q Classic
$246.29
End Date: Saturday Aug-18-2018 9:23:38 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $246.29
Buy It Now | Add to watch list

5 responses to “Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe Reviews”

  1. Esther Schindler says:
    11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Over the top. SLOSHING over the top., January 2, 2006
    By 
    Esther Schindler (Scottsdale, AZ USA) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      
    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)
      
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe (Hardcover)

    This is an absolutely gorgeous cookbook. I love to look at it, to flip through the photographs, to read the recipes and the essays written by the people involved in this Santa Fe restaurant. I immediately have a strong desire to rush to New Mexico and make a reservation for dinner.

    The only thing the cookbook *doesn’t* do is make me want to COOK any of these recipes.

    It isn’t that they aren’t appealing. They’re stunning: scallop mousse with basil lemon espuma (as a first course), mesquite grilled peppery elk tenderloin with garlic confit potatoes and exotic mushroom sauce, chive-tied bay scallops with black truffle and fresh tomato coulis. I’d be happy to EAT any of them, but I know I’m not going to cook them.

    Which isn’t to say that I’m a wimp cook. I’m happy to make a paella for a Sunday dinner, or “throw together” six separate dishes for an Indian feast. However, despite the best of intentions, these recipes are clearly geared for restaurant kitchens.

    Most of these recipes have a page of ingredients (usually expensive ones) and two full pages of instructions. In the intro to “Mesquite grilled foie gras terrine with sweet grapes and verjus,” for example, the author says, “When we clean the lobes of foie gras at Geronimo, we always have the leftover snippets that are too small for our recipes. We take these, marinate them for a day in a bit of Cognac and fresh thyme, grill them very quickly over mesquite, and press them into a terrine mold….” I don’t know about you, but there aren’t any foie gras leftovers in my frig. (The recipe calls for a 1 pound lobe, which you cut up.)

    I’d like to think that I’m ready to take on some of these recipes. I know I’m not, though. If you’re going to do it, please invite me for dinner.

    But as a coffee table cookbook, this one is perfect. Stunning photography, wonderful food combinations, lovely little essays about getting the restaurant started. (Now, honey — let’s go out for dinner.)

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. rodboomboom says:
    9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Exquisite Santa Fe Cuisine, October 8, 2004
    By 
    rodboomboom (Dearborn, Michigan United States) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      
    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)
      

    This review is from: Geronimo: Fine Dining in Santa Fe (Hardcover)

    One realizes the level of culture in SanteFe upon first entering therein: one of SW Tradition blending that with sophisticated highbrow indulgences of the residents/visitors.

    This is exactly the cuisine of this growing in stature SF restaurant. What is exciting and creativity in this cookbook is that they reveal its beginnings and philosophy (which are truly entwined) is sidebar discussions throughout the cookbook’s pages, at appropro sections. These are truly captivating reading.

    However, one won’t be too captivated by such insights nor trying any of these sophisticated recipes if one is not a fledging or growing gourmet on their own. Although this work is worthy of coffeetable display (gorgeous phots abound), it is truly a bevy of unusual ingredients and intricate steps in their prep. Any timidity about these will likely end in gourmet production that could be tragedy. However, don’t let any of this stop the venturesome who want to move up the culinary scale and try some great upscale SW cuisine!

    Here is magnificent offerings you won’t see other places. I like the likes of: Martini Shots (clever vodka sorbet on cucumber pureed caviar&creme frache); Crab and Meyer Lemon Soup with Spaetzle; Escargots with Tomato Caper Vinaigrette; Maryland Blue Crab Cakes with Caviar Sauce and Braised Leeks; Egg Griddles Goat Cheese and Smoked Salmon with Chicory Salad and Crispy Lardons; Chicken in A Chanterelle Mushroom and Garlic Stew; Npoleon of King Salmon with Braised Ruby Chard, Lemon Crepes, and Green Chile Butter Sauce; Fiery Chile Prawns with Crispy Jasmine Almond Rice Cakes and Caper Basil Sauce; Grilled Coldwater Lobster Tails and Creamy Chili Vinaigretter with Savory Potato Cakes; Mizuna Salad with Maple-Glazed Smithfield Ham and Creamy Buttermilk Hazelnut Vinaigrette; Poire-Williams Soup with Warm Bosc Pears, Star Anise Ice Cream, and Black Pepper Genoise; Tequilla Lime Tarts.

    And this great recipe collection highlighted none of the rich venision, fowls nor foie gras dishes.

    There is another neat touch to this one, a listing of the suggested side dishes recipied with each entree in the Index. There is excellent glossary for those who don’t know a lardon from a roulade. Sources are listed as well.

    Don’t forget to spend time at the Intro where the authors talk of how to use this cookbook, carefully reading recipe through (and might I add several times then making lists) and how to cook with constant tasting (Eric with Spoons!)

    Geronimo Experience must be exciting to experience firsthand, but here the rest of us can with its passion for great food laid out so spectacularly and over 100 of its recipes for us to try.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Sally Bowles says:
    8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    Not worth a nickel, February 24, 2012
    By 

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Birnbaum’s Walt Disney World Dining Guide 2012 (Paperback)

    Here is what is NOT in the book:

    1) Ratings. If you go by this book, every restaurant is equally wonderful.
    2) Menus. There are no menus and no recommendations re what to order and what not to order.
    3) Insider Info. Really just vacuous Disney descriptions. You could do better just looking on the Disney site.

    We were extremely disappointed in this guide and never once used it on our trip. We recommend the Unofficial Guide–it was a great help–or one of the many apps (if you have a smart phone).

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. 1st08wrx says:
    8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Great But a little dissapointed., October 28, 2011
    By 

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Birnbaum’s Walt Disney World Dining Guide 2012 (Paperback)

    I felt their could’ve been more about each restaurant.
    They didn’t really put a rating with any of the restaurants like 1-5, at least that would help you at a quick glance.
    I did like that they had all the places to eat broken down by park and hotels.
    I was expecting a little more depth into each place.
    It is still a great book for before you make the trip.
    Buy it if you want to know where to save some money and stretch your budget.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. AngieAngleways "AngieAngleways" says:
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    Not worth the money. What a paltry little book., March 6, 2012
    By 
    AngieAngleways “AngieAngleways” (London, England by way of the good ol’ USA) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Birnbaum’s Walt Disney World Dining Guide 2012 (Paperback)

    Birnbaum is capableof so much more. There is barely a blurb written for each establishment. There is nothing included in this bookthat isn’t readily available online. The only use this book will gain from us is if two peoople in our large family want to look atrestaurant inofrmation at the same time.

    Save your money. Sit near a computer and visit allears.net or wdwinfo.com or use your smart phone. Seriously, this book should have been so much more useful.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    VA:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *